Is Fasting Appropriate For Me?

So, lent is here.

As a christian, it’s not necessary to fast for lent like catholics do. I, myself, have fasted for a closer connection with Jesus Christ, through the Holy Spirit. I’m here to tell you that it absolutely works but there’s more to it than just giving up a certain food…especially to lose some holiday weight. Fasting for Christ is strictly to show Him how much you mean to Him. As we give up a certain food/activity we need to be cautious to spend our time in prayer as we are faced with the temptation of desires we gave up. Also, be as humble about your fasting as possible! Fasting isn’t supposed to kill you, it’s supposed to lift you up and make you stronger in the name of Jesus. If the Holy Spirit has compelled you to have a closer relationship with Christ, GO FOR IT! I highly encourage you to fast anytime regardless of lent! This year I’m going to participate with everyone else. I gave up something I’ve noticed I have no absolutely no control over lately but with the help of Jesus Christ I can EASILY face this. So here it goes. No bread or carbs for this gal!

For all of you who are fasting, remember why you chose to do it in the first place. Keep your eyes on JESUS!

Matthew 6:16-18 “And when you fast, do not look gloomy like the hypocrites, for they disfigure their faces that their fasting may be seen by others. Truly, I say to you, they have received their reward. But when you fast, anoint your head and wash your face, that your fasting may not be seen by others but by your Father who is in secret. And your Father who sees in secret will reward you.”

This was my delicious dinner last night 😛

FullSizeRender-2.jpg

9 thoughts on “Is Fasting Appropriate For Me?

  1. kmcr097

    Thanks for the encouragement! Attempting my first fast, of sorts, and nervous that I’ll have a hard time spending that time in prayer. Nervous I won’t be able to be humble. But willing to do my best and hopefully grow a little closer to God!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Barbie

      While you’re fasting, ask God for some things in prayer. For example I asked to see him in dreams. You’ll notice the more time you spend praying the less time you’re thinking about what you gave up! You go girl!! 🙂 let me know how it goes!

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Russ P.

    Your insights on fasting are right on. Your faithfulness to the Lord will result in many blessings. Thank you for stopping by my blog at Keyboard Strokes Blog. Please come back often.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. jason112083

    Well, even though it’s already been said, I’m glad that there are still people who understand fasting in terms of the Faith; to give Honor, to show Respect, and to suffer to begin to Understand what Jesus went through for us. You’re a diamond in the rough.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Laurie

    Catholic here. Wonderful that you have chosen to fast, just realize that’s only on certain days for Catholics (Christians). Many “give things up” for 40 days omitting Sundays per the calendar of how Easter is currently celebrated, there us a trend in other Catholics to add more of Gid, bible studies and such. 😉 luv your blog, keep up the good work.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Barbie

      Thank you! As a Pentecostal Christian I don’t think there’s a specific time or place to fast as long as I am creating that intimate relationship with Christ. I appreciate your feedback! God bless you!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Laurie

        I agree with you 100%! I enjoy learning about the different ways we all “the church” worship. I was brought up Protestant, converted to Catholicism (complicated/marriage/divorce). So many don’t consider Catholics Christian which of coarse they (we) are. The claim is Jesus founded the church with the Apostle Peter. – sorry for getting long winded. Rambling a bit 😉 Have a great day! May God’s Peace and Love be with you.

        Like

Leave a Reply

