Let Your Light Shine

Have you ever smiled at a stranger and got a blank stare right back? This might not seem funny but I’m actually laughing at it. Seriously! Have you ever went out of your way to compliment someone at the store or started a conversation with a stranger at school? You’ll either get a friendly response or you’ll get treated like you don’t exist. Since when did people become “weirded” out by simple human interaction? Maybe society has been like this for years and I’m now realizing it because I’m getting older. Whatever the case may be, it’s heartbreaking.

Have you ever thought about the souls walking around earth, you know, living day by day, the souls without a purpose?  I think about this a lot. The lady in the store who didn’t acknowledge me…okay, fine, she probably had a bad day along with the man on the sidewalk who didn’t smile back. Do these souls have purpose?

Each and every one of us has a purpose. plan. Don’t believe me? You (your body and soul) were literally put into your mother’s womb. You, alone, sent by God to come into this world and do great things. You were chosen to live a life of trial and tribulation. You were chosen to be a warrior and great soldier of Christ.


“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart; I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.” Jeremiah 1:5 

When I think about my plan, my purpose, I think about what I do on a daily basis to make the world a better place. Working long hours and going to school doesn’t cut it for me. I might be preparing myself for a bright future but I’m not making a difference by working all day for myself. That’s just greedy. I see life worth while reaching to someone’s soul. Lets say you’re having a bad day at work…a coworker you don’t like all of a sudden compliments on how great you do your work or how cute you look today. Would that set your resentment free? Would that make you feel at peace knowing that someone you didn’t like went out of their way to say something nice about you? It would change your whole mindset of that person. Fact is, the world isn’t perfect. You’re going to meet people who just don’t like you and that’s that but the possibility of making someone’s day by saying a simple “hello” is worth the risk. Imagine the opportunities and doors opened for you as a child of Christ. You want to know other children of God, you want to know strangers, family, and friends who may not even know God.

Did I get you thinking about your purpose? I’m giggling again. The purpose of life as a Christian is to let everyone know who Jesus is and what His purpose was coming into this world. Our purpose is to be more like Jesus, which means, to be completely compassionate, loving, strong, and sympathetic towards one another.

Actions speak louder than words. Lend out that hand in the name of Jesus. Smile in the name of Jesus. Encourage one another in the name of Jesus. This is our purpose. 

3 thoughts on “Let Your Light Shine

  1. Peter M. Bergren Photography

    Great post! It’s so true. I think people are getting harder and more afraid as time goes on. I believe we have to persevere in loving people even when they don’t receive it. “Let us not lose heart in doing good” Galatians 6:9 (NASB)

    Like

Leave a Reply

