The Importance of God’s Word

Lord, I can’t get out of this slump. I cry to you every day about the aches in my heart, the evil jealousy, and worldly desires. What am I doing to feel this way? I am calling your name. HELP, JESUS!

The human life is complicated and definitely sugar coated. We may think we have the world at the tip of our fingers until we wake up on the wrong side of the bed with the enemy whispering negativity in our ears. The devil has been telling me lately that I’m not good enough. Not good enough for anyone on earth nor God. I can’t sleep, I can’t eat, and I’m not myself. I sit here questioning if the hole in my stomach is going to go away…and if so, when? What am I doing wrong, Lord?

I woke up this morning ready to find the answer. I can’t take another day living like this. I refuse to let satan win today.

I roll out of bed, open my windows, and fill my diffuser with essential oils. I press “shuffle” on my Christian/Gospel playlist while I begin to clean my room. It finally clicked. “Read the word.” Thats all I heard. I instantly begin to find excuses not to read the bible.

Satan: You don’t have time to read.

Holy Spirit: Read the word.

Me: I don’t feel like it

Satan: Yeah, go to the gym instead. You don’t want to get any bigger than you already are.

Holy Spirit: Read the word.

Me: *Lays on bed. Starts reading the book of Joshua.*

Suddenly, I feel at peace. I feel content, happy, and renewed. I may not have felt like I was on top of a mountain but I suddenly felt a feeling of love inside my heart. I began to read Joshua 4:23-24.

“For the Lord your God dried up the Jordan before you until you had crossed over. The Lord your God did to the Jordan what he had done to the Red Sea when he dried up before us until we had crossed over. He did this so that all the peoples of the earth might know that the hand of the Lord is powerful and so that you might always fear the Lord your God.”

The Holy Spirit opened my eyes (once again) to recognize the power of the Lord and to be fearful of Him! I could sit here all day and complain, hate my life, the way I look, and how I felt that day but this doesn’t change the fact that God is good. He is good to me when I disappoint, His grace is limitless. A thousand times I’ve failed yet your mercy remains, Lord.

The Holy Spirit continued to fill me with verses.

“But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.”

2 Corinthians 12:9

There it was. The Holy Spirit filled me. I cannot go a day without reading the word or I will fall down…deeper than I was before.

5 thoughts on “The Importance of God’s Word

Leave a Reply

